Need advice on printing on cloth book cover.

JCB

Hello folks,

Can someone advise on the following please?

I recently finished writing a 400 page A4 size book and decided to do the bookbinding myself to create it as a cloth covered hardback book. This is my first attempt at bookbinding and everything was going really well until I realised I will have problems printing the title of the book on the cloth cover (which would be done before gluing cloth to boards). The cloth is dark navy blue linen and is specially made for the purpose with a paper backing. I have a Brother MFC-J6540DW A3 inkjet printer and I believe it will print the cloth ok, but when cut to size the cloth will be 40mm too wide to fit into the A3 printer because of the extra width allowed for overlap when gluing the cloth to the front and back hardboards. So, I'm wondering if I was to fold 20mm in on either side, and tape them down, will this work? Will it go through the printer ok, or will it likely cause a massive printer jam?

I tried T-shirt heat transfer paper to create the title but it was a disaster. If there is a better method of giving my book a title I'd sure like to hear about it.

Thanks
JCB

I would only recommend a DTF heat transfer sheet pressed on before binding. Using a heat press, you should be fine. What happened when you tried and where did you get your heat transfer paper?

JCB

I would only recommend a DTF heat transfer sheet pressed on before binding. Using a heat press, you should be fine. What happened when you tried and where did you get your heat transfer paper?